Dunn on Purpose
Dunn on Purpose Podcast
Crafting a Personal Philosophy - Pt. 1
0:00
-40:42

Crafting a Personal Philosophy - Pt. 1

5 Ideas out of 10 - First drafts

After I recorded Preach Practice last week I knew I’d follow it up with an episode about the work I’m doing to craft my personal philosophy.

As I mentioned in that episode and reference multiple times in this one, I joined Heroic Coach Class XI in May of last year. It is a 300-day certification program that covers a TON of content, but as someone who loves to learn, it’s right up my alley.

I’m just a few weeks from completing the certification and one of the recommended practices was to start drafting my own personal philosophy.

After spending a few hours over the course of a week in my journal and thinking about what works for me, and how I would put my own spin on all that I’ve learned and am putting into practice in my own life, I thought it would be fun to share a working draft with you!

This exercise is sort of like refining the 33 Life Lessons from 33 Years of Life down to 10.

I intended on sharing all 10 ideas when I started, but as I got through the first 5 I decided to turn this into a two-parter. I’ll come back next week with the next 5 ideas.

Do you have a personal philosophy? What is it?

As I encourage you to do in the audio, if any of these ideas resonate with you or if you have any thoughts of your own, please share!

Leave a comment

Here are the first 5 with some additional notes I reference in the episode:

Heart Mind and Soul

Virtue: Zest

Body Temple

- Sweat More Often
- Eat Move Sleep Breath Focus Celebrate Prosper

Inner Citadel

Tool: Meditation
Philosopher Note - The Inner Citadel

“Most people are not alive, because they do not live in the present, but are always outside of themselves, alienated, and dragged backwards and forwards by the past and by the present. They do not know that the present is the only point at which they are truly themselves and free. The present is the only point which, thanks to our action and our consciousness, gives us access to the totality of the world.” - Pierre Hadot

Sanctuary
Time & Man (Georgios I. Mantzaridis)
Being (Werner Erhard, Martin Heidegger)

Roots & Wings

Virtues: Gratitude & Hope
Roots
Wings

Philosophers Note: Gratitude Works!

Science of Hope: Goals + Agency + Pathways

Veritas

Virtue: Curiosity

Complete Acceptance
Hammer vs. Flashlight
”In Spirit and in Truth”
Self Compassion
Collecting Turnarounds

Trust Thyself

Virtue: Confidence

“And truly it demands something godlike in him who has cast off the common motives of humanity, and has ventured to trust himself for a taskmaster. High be his heart, faithful his will, clear his sight, that he may in good earnest be doctrine, society, law, to himself, that a simple purpose may be to him as strong as iron necessity is to others!” - Ralph Waldo Emerson

The “Jonah Complex” from Future Visions

Tool: WOOP (Wish, Outcome, Obstacle, Plan)

Warrior Poetry

Virtue: Self Mastery

Creative Action
Ancient Wisdom + Modern Science
Mastery
Identity in Big 3: Energy, Work, and Love
Optimal Deployment of limited resources

“Aim Start Flow Learn Repeat”


Thanks again for reading/listening!

If this draft is any indication, there’s much more work to be done! I’m excited to dive deeper into these concepts and most importantly continue practicing them in my own life.

Thanks for reading Local Leadership Newsletter! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Discussion about this podcast

Dunn on Purpose
Dunn on Purpose Podcast
The Dunn on Purpose Podcast exists to Encourage, Enrich, and Empower you to live your life On Purpose. In addition to solo episodes that connect to the Dunn On Purpose Newsletter, you'll hear Aaron Dunn have conversations with coaches and other individuals who exemplify what it means to live on purpose and exhibit "Strong Com".
"Com" is the root word for 'together', or 'in common'. This podcast is founded upon the "Three C's" which stand for: Strong Communication + Strong Community = Strong Company. #StrongCom
Through conversations with Local Leaders and exploration into a variety of topics including how we optimize our energy, work, and love to live a life in pursuit of our best selves, we learn so much about how we can improve how we communicate to ourselves and to others and co-create community so that we can make an impact where we are, and all grow stronger as a result.
Subscribe today! www.dunnonpurpose.com